Warning: This Version of MasterFormat is No Longer Current

The Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) publishes the MasterFormat, which is the standard that is used most often for formatting construction specifications. The 1995 version is no longer published and has been replaced by the 2004 MasterFormat.

Looking for a List of Manufacturers?

If you are looking for a list of manufacturers of building products, please check out Archimat, our building product directory.

MasterFormat 1995 Divisions (OLD)

The 16-Division specification was the standard used by building professionals from its release in 1975 until it was retired in 2004. In 2004, MasterFormat increased to 50 Divisions to account for new types of products an a wider range of available options in building materials.

The list of numbers and titles for MasterFormat is protected intellectual property so we cannot provide the entire list, but the top level divisions are listed below for your convenience.

  • Division 01 - General Requirements
  • Division 02 - Site Construction
  • Division 03 - Concrete
  • Division 04 - Masonry
  • Division 05 - Metals
  • Division 06 - Wood and Plastics
  • Division 07 - Thermal and Moisture Protection
  • Division 08 - Doors and Windows
  • Division 09 - Finishes
  • Division 10 - Specialties
  • Division 11 - Equipment
  • Division 12 - Furnishings
  • Division 13 - Special Construction
  • Division 14 - Conveying Systems
  • Division 15 - Mechanical
  • Division 16 - Electrical
Ad - Article Continues Below
Help make archtoolbox better. If you found an error or out of date information in this article, please let us know.

Archtoolbox Monthly Newsletter: Website updates, industry news, career growth, and more. Sign up now!